Awards and Scholarships

Graduate Exam Scholarship

The Graduate Exam Scholarship is open to any member of the Panhellenic community who plans to pursue graduate school. It covers the cost of one graduate exam. Previous applications will not be considered, but you may reapply if you have applied in the past. The committee will select one winner per semester.

Louis B. White Model the Way Award

Louis B. White was a 1927 initiate of the Alpha Theta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, the first Black Phi Beta Kappa scholar and the first Black athlete to become a member of the University of Iowa varsity soccer team. In recognition of Mr. White’s dedication to leading and modeling the way for members of his chapter and the University of Iowa fraternity and sorority community, we have created the Louis B. White Model the Way Award.

T. Anne Cleary Scholarship

The T. Anne Cleary Scholarship is sponsored by the Panhellenic Council and is named in recognition of Anne’s dedication to academic excellence while serving at The University of Iowa as the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs.  The scholarship honors a sorority member, regardless of council, on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and service.

Helen Reich Scholarship

As the Dean of Women at The University of Iowa, Helen Reich advised the sorority community and served as a role model for the women of Iowa. This scholarship was created by the Panhellenic Council to honor a junior sorority member, regardless of council, on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and service.

Dinette Myers Quiet Leader Award

This award is sponsored by the University of Iowa Panhellenic Council in honor of Dinette Myers’ over 25 years of service to the Iowa Memorial Union and Leadership & Engagement. This award will be presented to one member of the Panhellenic Council Sorority Community who embodies the leadership characteristics of a quiet, yet contributing member of her chapter and/or the Panhellenic Sorority Community.

Outstanding Sorority Member in Leadership Award

This award is sponsored by the University of Iowa Panhellenic Council to recognize one (1) senior sorority member and one(1) sophomore sorority member regardless of council, who has dedicated a large amount of time, energy, and commitment to their individual organization and the greater UI Fraternity & Sorority Community.

Randy Ross Senior Leadership Award

Sponsored by the Interfraternity Council, this award is named Randy Ross, the first Resident Advisor/House Director to a fraternity at Iowa. The award honors a senior fraternity member, regardless of council, whose leadership has contributed to the advancement of our fraternity community. The recipient will receive $250 from the Interfraternity Council.

Charlotte “Char” M. Sojka FBS Student Leadership Scholarship

In recognition of Charlotte “Char” M. Sojka’s 39 years of service to the University of Iowa, specifically 35 years serving the Iowa Memorial Union, Fraternity Business Services, and the UI Fraternity and Sorority Community as the FBS Account Specialist, the Charlotte “Char” M. Sojka Fraternity Business Services Student Leader Award has been created.

Outstanding Community Service Award

This award honors one (1) fraternity member and one (1) sorority member, regardless of council, for dedicating time and energy to the greater UI and Iowa City/Coralville communities. Sponsored by Iowa Zeta chapter of Pi Beta Phi.

Andrew James Mogni Legacy Award

The Andrew James Mogni Legacy Award, created in 2015, is sponsored by International Programs, Sigma Nu Fraternity, and the Interfraternity Council, and is named in honor of Andrew James Mogni and his dedication to academic excellence and commitment to improving the lives of others. This award was established to perpetuate the legacy of Andrew and his passion for teaching people how to live every day and love life to the fullest. The award honors one fraternity member annually, regardless of Council affiliation, on the basis of proven scholarship, demonstrated leadership, and a strong commitment to serving others.

Mary Peterson Fraternity/Sorority Member of the Year

This award is sponsored by the University of Iowa Panhellenic and Interfraternity Councils in honor of Mary Peterson. Mary Peterson served The University of Iowa as the Fraternity and Sorority Advisor for over 20 years.  During her time she acted as a mentor, confidant, and role model for all students on Iowa’s campus.

Outstanding Program Award

This award honors the chapter (s) who has excelled in creating successful, unique programming in any aspect of Fraternity and Sorority Life. The Outstanding Program Award is geared toward (but not limited to) the following areas:  social, educational, risk management, philanthropic, service, cultural/diversity, alumni, and scholarship. The chapter may submit more than one application for consideration if they wish.  Multiple awards may be issued.