Our mission

We, the Interfraternity Council (IFC), exists to advance conditions conducive to the success of its member chapters and to promote the progress of the fraternity experience. With this aim, the IFC actively encourages interfraternalism and collaboration with other fraternity/sorority governing councils and student governance bodies. Maintaining a positive working relationship and partnership with the campus administration, alumni, NIC and inter/national headquarters of member chapters is critical toward elevating the role of the IFC.

IFC Recruitment Information IFC Scholarships

IFC constitution and bylaws

The history of our community 

The story of the University of Iowa Fraternity and Sorority Community started in 1866 with Beta Theta Pi, as the first fraternity on campus. We are proud to celebrate more that 150 years of tradition, brotherhood, and the ability to further develop young men to become better leaders.

This community has since grown, now having 16 chapters within the Interfraternity Council. Giving these chapter the opportunity to impact the lives of more than 1,000 men. The Interfraternity Council (IFC) is the governing body of all 16 of our chapters.

Get to know our council executive officers

Ryan Nagel


Sam Freudenberg

Vice President for Public Relations & Marketing

Tristen Gile

Vice President of Risk Reduction and Management

Aidan Gilleland

Vice President for Leadership and Education

Ky Girgis

Vice President for Recruitment

Spencer Jones

Chief Justice

Phoenix Khongmaly

Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion

Joe Mahoney

Vice President for Academic Achievement

Kyle Scaccia

Vice President for Philanthropy & Community Service

Ethan Walz

Vice President of Finance and Operations